Posted in Book Review, Crime, Noir

Why She Ran Geraldine Hogan 5*#Review @GerHogan @bookouture #CrimeFiction #DetectiveIrisLocke #IrishCrime #Mystery #Noir #BookReview #WhySheRan

Yesterday they were a family like any other…

Twenty-year-old Rachel McDermott was your typical girl-next-door. She loved her job as a nurse, was close to her family in the small Irish town of Corbally and seemed to have no enemies. So when she is brutally murdered, the local community reels in horror and Detective Iris Locke is put on the case.

The main suspect is her close friend, sixteen-year-old Eleanor Marshall, a tearaway teenager with addiction problems whose parents have long since turned their backs on her. Eleanor was last seen fleeing the scene where Rachel’s body was found and is now missing in the woods near the Comeragh mountains.

Eleanor’s sister Karena insists Eleanor wouldn’t have hurt her best friend, but a day later, when Karena is found dead in the area Eleanor is hiding, Iris knows things don’t look good for the runaway teen. She doesn’t want to believe that Eleanor is her sister’s killer, but all the evidence seems to point that way.

But Iris can’t let go of the elements of the case she doesn’t have answers for. The fact that Rachel’s father died in suspicious circumstances. The strange company that Rachel was keeping the night before she died. Was it guilt or fear that made Eleanor run? And can Iris find her before it is too late?

Amazon UK

I received a copy of this book from Bookouture via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

More than a police procedural, the Detective Iris Locke series, gives the reader an insight into a darker side of Ireland. The rural landscape, the importance of community and family, are often portrayed as defining themes of Ireland. This series explores them from a different perspective, which is thought-provoking.

‘Why She Ran’, is a self-contained mystery and crime story, but Detective Iris Locke, the main protagonist, is recovering from a tragedy that makes her question everything about her life before it.
There is enough detail is in this second book, for the reader to form an opinion of Iris, and understand her motivations, but reading the first book in this series is the preferred option.

Irish is tasked with solving a particularly brutal murder. The prime suspect is on the run, but as Locke and her partner Slatterley investigate, they wonder if the obvious answer, is really what happened.

The plot is gently paced, there are twists and a surprising final twist. The clues are there for this solution but it is cleverly written. Character-driven, this story has complex authentic characters, who are relatable and in keeping with the setting. The story has a definite voice, which makes it unique in a popular genre. I look forward to the next book in this engagingly, dark crime series.

Posted in Blog Tour, Book Review, Crime

Silent Night – Geraldine Hogan 5*#Review @bookouture @GerHogan #DetectiveIrisLocke #Ireland #policeprocedural #crimefiction #BlogTour

‘She reached into the pram and placed her hands on the cotton blanket. It was still warm. But her smiling, new baby sister, with her wide blue-grey eyes, was gone…’

Twenty-five years later, three bodies are found at a ramshackle cottage in the Irish countryside, and Detective Iris Locke is sick to her stomach. The victims are Anna Crowe and her two young children.

Iris has only recently joined the Limerick Murder Squad. Against her father’s advice, she’s working the narrow lanes and green hills of her childhood. Iris still remembers Anna, who was just a small girl when her baby sister was snatched, never to be seen again. It was the one case Iris’ own father never solved, and Iris can’t help but wonder if the two crimes are connected.

She’ll stop at nothing to find Anna justice, but a fire has destroyed almost all the physical evidence, and Limerick is the same small town she remembers: everybody protects their neighbours, and Iris has been away for too long.

Can Iris unpick the lies beneath the surface of her pretty hometown, and catch the most twisted individual of her career, when reopening the old case means reopening old wounds for her team, the rest of the community, and her own father?

Amazon UK Apple Books Kobo GooglePlay

I received a copy of this book from Bookouture via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

All the ingredients for a stunning police procedural, are in this first book of the Detective Iris Locke series. An ambitious, clever detective, an atmospheric authentic setting, believable characters and unexpected twists in the poignant case, they are investigating.

The tragic first event sets the scene for this story and draws you in, even though you can’t immediately see how it is connected to what follows. Iris is desperate to work in Murder, and she needs to prove herself. Hardworking, and likeable, she is not sure if she can fit in with the other detectives. There are some wonderful characters in this story, the detectives are recognisable, and avoid stereotypes. Even Slatterly, who is the closest to a stereotype has a reason for his behaviour that is eventually revealed, making him believable.

The investigation is well thought out, and interesting, lots of suspects, with the true reasons behind the crime hidden until the end. The twists are believable, and unexpected, especially towards the end, and everything comes to a satisfying conclusion. With the prospect of more investigations for Iris and the team

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is hogan_faith.jpg
Geraldine Hogan

Geraldine Hogan was born in Ireland. She gained an Honors Degree in English Literature and Psychology from Dublin City University and a Postgraduate Degree in Training and Management from University College, Galway. She is an Irish award-winning and bestselling author of four contemporary fiction novels under the pen name Faith Hogan.
Silent Night is her first crime novel, her second is due out in December 2019.
She is currently working on her next novel. She lives in the west of Ireland with her husband, four children and a very busy Labrador named Penny. She’s a writer, reader, enthusiastic dog walker and reluctant jogger – except of course when it is raining!

Facebook Twitter Instagram

Posted in Cover Reveal

Silent Night -Geraldine Hogan #CoverReveal @bookouture #GerHogan #Crime #Thriller #DetectiveIrisLocke1 #SilentNight

A baby is snatched from her pram in the garden. She’s never found. Thirty years later her sister, now a mother herself, is brutally killed.

When Anna Crowe is killed in her sleep alongside her children, the quiet local community of Corbally is shocked. It’s also a chilling reminder of when her sister, Janey, disappeared as a baby, twenty-nine years ago, never to be seen again.

Detective Iris Locke is assigned to the case and, after a year undercover which ended in failure when her cover got blown, she’s desperate to make her mark – and to live up to the reputation of her ex-cop father, the former head of the Limerick Murder Squad.

Jack Locke ran the investigation into the disappearance of baby Janey. But by reopening the old case, Iris is also reopening old wounds for the team. Can she untangle the dark secrets that lead to one sister vanishing and the other’s death – even if it means digging into the past of someone very close to her?

Fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons and L.J. Ross won’t want to miss this – the first book in a gripping and unputdownable new crime series.

Amazon UK

August 23rd 2019