Posted in Audiobook Review, Blog Tour, Book Review, Family Drama, Humour, Romance

The Terraced House Diaries Samantha Henthorn 5*#Review @SamanthaHfinds #Narrator Lindsay McKinnon @LindzMcKinnon @RandomTTours #Audiobook #Review #BlogTour #CurmudgeonAvenueSeries #satire #TheTerracedHouseDiaries #humour #Romance #Family#Drama

When Curmudgeon Avenue introduces sisters Edna and Edith Payne, their presence is not welcomed by the proud, yet grouchy Victorian terrace. 

Widowed Edith is looking for love and dates one of Edna’s ex-boyfriends, Maurice. 

This does not end well, especially for the cat. 

Edna is heartbroken after her long term partner moved to France and is now unhappily cohabiting with her idiot sister. 

Edith’s son Ricky Ricketts permanently hangs around Curmudgeon Avenue with his on/off girlfriend Wantha, her sister Toonan and all the tomfoolery they bring.

The sisters decide to advertise for a lodger, and the notable Harold Goatshed moves in. 

He is yet another of Edna’s exes. 

Still vulnerable from the Maurice incident, Edith falls for his charms. 

This delightful social satire tells of the quarrels, romances and dramas of the intertwined lives of Curmudgeon Avenue’s residents.

Amazon UK

I received a copy of this audiobook from the author in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

This is a quirky story about a house and its occupants in the North West of England. The house at number one Curmudgeon Avenue is gossipy, opinionated and snobby. Drawn into a strange world of family drama, romance and secrets, the reader is treated to a unique insight into life within the walls of Curmudgeon Avenue.

The story has lots of characters brought to life by the narrator. Sensual imagery makes listening to this story an inclusive experience, though there are some scenes you wish were described less well.

The humour is plentiful and quintessentially English, I loved it. Irreverence and satire lift the story out of the everyday into something special.

The narration is professional and makes the story an addictive listening experience.

The next book in the series previews at the end of the audiobook and that sounds just as good.

Samantha Henthorn

Samantha Henthorn was born in 1970something in Bury, England. She has had short stories and poetry published in magazines. Her books include the Curmudgeon Avenue series (The Terraced House Diaries and The Harold and Edith adventures). ‘1962’, ‘Quirky Tales to Make Your Day’ and ‘Piccalilly’ 

She has two cats, one dog, one gorgeous grown up daughter and one husband. When not reading or writing, she is listening to heavy metal and would be thrilled to bits if someone read her books. 

Blog Twitter

Posted in Audiobook Review, Blog Tour, Book Review, Crime, Noir, Thriller

20/20 Carl Goodman #TwentyTwenty 5* #Review @Carl201010 @AudibleUK #Narrator Louise Brealey #CrimeFiction #Techno #Thriller #NoirCrime #Audiobook #Review @MidasPR @amberachoudhary #AudibleOriginal

A vicious killer and a traitor on the team – can DC Harris see the truth before it’s too late?

On the first day of her new job, rookie cop DI Eva Harris is called to a chilling crime scene – a body drained of blood, with the eyes removed. It’s only the first of several similar murders, reminiscent of a series of bloody killings several years ago. Is the same killer back, or is a new threat menacing the area? As the bodies mount up, Harris must uncover the truth. But, the threat doesn’t only come from outside. Within her own team, there is a traitor at work… A heart in the mouth crime-thriller that is perfect for fans of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Amazon UK

I received a copy of this audiobook from Audible UK via Midas PR in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

After an impactful opening, the threat level in this techno crime thriller intensifies with every chapter. DI Eva Harris, a fast-tracked officer is thrown in at the deep end, horrific murder, a new team and something in her personal life that haunts her.

Technology is an important theme and Eva is a gifted cybercrime officer. There is lots of detail in this complex thriller, which initially seems to slow the pace, but it’s necessary to understand Eva’s character and motivations. Subplots, including one from Eva’s past and one that illuminates the real reason Eva’s presence in Surrey, make this story authentic and multilayered. Eva’s humanity, sense of justice, and tenacity make her easy to empathise as the story progresses. The police team dynamic is realistic and gradually supportive of Eva.

The suspense, violent crime and Eva’s vulnerability make this thriller both addictive and immersive. As the different plot strands converge, there are some surprising outcomes and more than one antagonist.

An easy to listen to narrator so good you forget her presence, as you become immersed in the characters and plot.

Carl Goodman is a designer and media consultant who has worked with everything from hot-metal type to computer animation and virtual reality. His interactive projects have twice won BAFTA awards. He has worked with companies and universities across Europe and the US on government-funded R&D programmes, and with major international brands on new product development, but he absolutely draws the line at commuting. He loves writing, both crime and science fiction, and enjoys stories that have both a technological edge and a dark, visceral theme. He enjoys research, although sometimes the material he unearths worries the living daylights out of him. Carl lives in Surrey with his wife and has an adult son.

Posted in Audiobook Review, Blog Tour, Book Review, Crime, International Thriller, Political Thriller, Suspense, Thriller, Travel

Red Desert Paddy Magrane 5*#Review #AudioBookReview @PaddyMagrane @audibleuk @midaspr #RedDesert #Narrator Joe Jameson #International #Thriller #PoliticalThriller #ConspiracyThriller #BlogTour #BookReview

When his girlfriend is violently attacked, Tom’s life falls apart and escape makes perfect sense. Taking a role as a therapist for staff on an oil camp in southern Iraq seems like the perfect solution. But upon his arrival, an explosion leaves four men dead. Tom starts to ask questions, and his curiosity soon gets him into trouble. An attack on the camp sees Tom shipped home, where he works with a journalist to continue his investigations. But when the journalist falls beneath a tube train, Tom is left wondering whether his search for the truth could end in his death, too…

Amazon UK Audible UK

I received a copy of this audiobook from the author in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

This audiobook is a gripping thriller with a complex plot and a believable protagonist. The various settings are authentic and vividly described. You can feel the heat, smell the dust and the sweat in the Iraq sequences.

Tom is easy to empathise with his tragic past and his keen sense for justice. His courage is relatable. He’s fearful but wants to find the truth and is prepared to risk his safety to achieve this.

Flawed and realistic each of the cast of characters make the story more relevant and real.Well-paced the plot enthrals right to the end. The believable ending is positive.

The narration is well balanced and professional. You forgot it is just one person as the characters come to life with subtle voice changes.

A riveting, realistic novel perfect as an audiobook.

Paddy Magrane

Paddy Magrane is a Psychotherapist, journalist and the Kindle #1 ranked thriller writer of The Sam Keddie thrillers. Born in the Middle East, Paddy then grew up on army bases in Germany, Northern Ireland and England. Paddy was an artist for ten years in the UK before working as a journalist for The Guardian, The Observer and The Telegraph. Paddy has travelled extensively, having visited Syria before the civil war and recently worked in Israel and the West Bank. In 2006, Paddy retrained as a psychotherapist and practices at home in rural Devon where he lives with his wife and two daughters.

Joe Jameson

Joe Jameson is a London based actor and voice-over artist. He graduated from the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School in 2010 and has since become one of London’s most in-demand voice-over artists.With an excellent ear for accents, and an extensive range, Joe has narrated more than 200 audio-books for Audible, Strathmore and Penguin, among others.