Posted in Blog Tour, Book Review, Cozy Mystery, Detective, New Books, Travel

The Mystery of the Lost Husbands Gina Cheyne 4*#Review @gina_cheyne @rararesources #BlogTour #BookReview #cosymystery #cosycrime

Is murdering husbands an addiction or merely a bad habit?

This is the question facing Private Investigator Cat Harrington when rich builder, Tom Drayton, dies shortly after his wedding night. Suspicion falls on his widow, Anastasia Rodriguez, the survivor of three previous ‘lost’ husbands.

Two years later, Anastasia is engaged again, to Cat’s friend Angelo, an Italian snail collector.

Angelo’s sister, Gia, employs Cat and the SeeMs Detective Agency to discover if her brother’s financé is a killer.

The search for Anastasia’s lost husbands takes Cat and her team from Scotland to the South of Spain and on to Argentina.

They have just a few weeks before the wedding to discover if Anastasia is a murderer and save their friend from becoming victim number five.

For fans of Arsenic and Old Lace and The Number 1 Ladies Detective Agency

Amazon UK Amazon

I received a copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

A cosy mystery that spans the globe with complex, quirky characters and an intricately constructed set of secrets that keep the reader engaged. The SeeMS detective agency usually investigates missing dogs. Three unique women run the business bringing their diverse skills to their joint venture. Investigating the case of a wife whose husbands have died with alarming regularity is a mystery they are determined to solve. The story moves between the wife’s past and the present investigation illuminating the reader about the amateur sleuths’ backstories as it develops. It’s an entertaining and eccentric story that will appeal to the cosy mystery genre lovers.

Gina has worked as a physiotherapist, a pilot, a freelance writer and a dog breeder.

As a child, Gina’s parents hated travelling and never went further than Jersey. As a result, she became travel-addicted and spent the year after university bumming around SE Asia, China and Australia, where she worked in a racing stables in Pinjarra, South of Perth. After getting stuck in black sand in the Ute one time too many (and getting a tractor and trailer caught in a tree) she was relegated to horse-riding work only. After her horse bolted down the sand, straining a fetlock and falling in the sea, she was further relegated to swimming the horses only in the pool. It was with some relief the racehorse stables posted her off on the train into eastern Australia to work in a vineyard… after all what could go wrong there?

In the north of Thailand, she took a boat into the Golden Triangle and got shot at by bandits. Her group escaped into the undergrowth and hid in a hill tribe whisky still where they shared the ‘bathroom’ with a group of pigs. Getting a lift on a motorbike they hurried back to Chiang Rai, where life seemed calmer.

After nearly being downed in a fiesta in Ko Pha Ngan, and cursed by a witch in Malaysia, she decided to go to Singapore and then to China where she only had to battle with the language and regulations.

Since marrying the first time, she has lived and worked in many countries including Spain and the USA.

For a few years, Gina was a Wingwalking pilot, flying, amongst others, her 64-year-old mother standing on the wing to raise money for a cancer charity. She was also a helicopter instructor and examiner and took part in the World Helicopter Championships in Russia and the USA.

She became a writer because her first love was always telling a good yarn!

Under the name Georgina Hunter-Jones she has written illustrated children’s books such as The Twerple who had Too Many Brains, and Nola the Rhinoceros loves Mathematics.

She now lives in Sussex with her husband and dogs, one of who inspired the Biscuit and Pugwash Detective Series about naughty dogs who solve crimes.

The Mystery of the Lost Husbands is the first in the SeeMS Detective Agency series and Gina’s first crime novel for adults.

Website

Posted in Blog Tour, Book Review, Contemporary Fiction, Family Drama, Friendship, New Books, Romance, Travel

One Greek Summer Kate Frost 5*#Review @katefrostauthor @BoldwoodBooks #BoldwoodBloggers @rararesources #BlogTour #BookReview #Romance #RomCom #Greece #Summer #OneGreekSummer #Family #Secrets

Taking a chance on love is just the beginning…

When Harlow Sands arrives on an idyllic Greek island to work on a big-budget movie, it should be the opportunity of a lifetime. But her uncertainty over the direction of her life and the high expectations of Maeve Fennimore-Bell, her domineering Hollywood producer mum, threatens to ruin her summer on beautiful Skopelos

Location manager Tyler Reed has his fair share of demons. His and Harlow’s lives have been entwined for over a decade and now forced to work together, their complicated past begins to unravel.

Harlow is desperate to break free and make her own way in the world, but with a fractured family, a long-hidden secret and a need to belong, can her happy-ever-after be found during one Greek summer?

Escape to the beautiful Greek isles with bestseller Kate Frost for the perfect uplifting, feel-good romantic read.

Amazon UK

I received a copy of this book from Boldwood Books via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

Set on the picturesque Greek island of Skopelos, this is a romantic story with hidden depths. Harlow has a problematic relationship with her film producer mother, Maeve, forced into the assistant location manager role, epitomising their controlling relationship. Working for Tyler, the location manager, is also problematic as they have known each other for many years in a poorly defined relationship that is more toxic than therapeutic. Meeting the aptly named Adonis is surprisingly intriguing for Harlow, and it makes her take a deep look at her life and its direction.

The island is brought to vibrant life and allows the reader to escape. The plot is simple but explores contemporary issues through the characters. The romance is full of chemistry but gentle, and the film location setting and romantic conclusion make this a satisfying and uplifting read.

Kate Frost

Kate Frost is the author of several bestselling romantic escape novels including The
Greek Heart and The Love Island Bookshop. She lives in Bristol and is the Director of
Storytale Festival, a book festival for children and teens she co-founded in 2019.

Facebook Twitter Instagram Newsletter sign up


Posted in Blog Tour, Book Review, Contemporary Fiction, Friendship, New Books, Parenting and Famlies, Romance, Romantic Comedy

The Blossom Tree of Dreams Holly Martin 5*#Review @HollyMAuthor #romcom #TheBlossomTreeof Dreams #WishingWood #Dreams #secrets #friendship #romance

Welcome to the wonderful Wishing Wood, where incredible treehouses twinkle under a blanket of stars, the sea sparkles through the leaves, and true love is in the air. From the bestselling author of Sunlight over Crystal Sands comes this gorgeously romantic tale.


Indigo Bloom is on her way to beautiful Wishing Wood with some very big news. Two months ago she shared an incredible night with the most amazing man. She didn’t think she’d ever see River Brookfield again, but she never imagined she’d be showing up out of the blue to tell him she’s pregnant with his child.

Indigo’s heart longs for a fairytale ending. There’s just one problem: River doesn’t remember who Indigo is…

Crushed that a night that meant so much to her was so forgettable for him, Indigo resolves to keep her identity and her pregnancy secret until she gets to know the real River. But as they spend more time together, it’s clear that the incredible connection they shared that first night is stronger than ever, and that River might remember more than Indigo first thought.

The closer they get, Indigo’s secret becomes harder to share. Can Indigo find the courage to tell River the truth? And if she does, will she get the fairytale ending she’s been dreaming of?

Make all your dreams come true this summer with this feel-good love story that will sweep you off your feet.

Amazon UK

I received a copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

The Blossom Tree of Dreams, set in a beautifully described location, sensory imagery immerses the reader into the intricately created world. Indigo and River’s story is heartwarming and poignant. The excellent supporting characters make many lighter moments, and it’s a story that invests the reader in the characters’ lives, and you want them to be happy. The couple must overcome internal and external conflicts, but this remains an escapist, uplifting read.