Posted in Blog Tour, Book Review, Crime, Detective, Murder Mystery, New Books, Noir, Nordic Noir

Bitter Flowers Gunnar Staalesen 4* #Review @OrendaBooks #BitterFlowers @RandomTTours #GunnarStaalesen #Translator Don Bartlett #BlogTour #BookReview #VargVeum #ChillingWinterReads

Fresh from rehab, PI Varg Veum faces his most complex
investigation yet, when a man is found drowned, a young woman disappears, and the case of a missing child is revived. The classic Nordic Noir series continues…

PI Varg Veum has returned to duty following a stint in rehab, but
his new composure and resolution are soon threatened when three
complex crimes land on his desk.

A man is found dead in an elite swimming pool. A young woman
has gone missing. Most chillingly, Veum is asked to investigate
the ‘Camilla Case’: an eight-year-old cold case involving the
disappearance of a little girl, who was never found.

As the threads of these three apparently unrelated cases
come together, against the backdrop of a series of shocking
environmental crimes, Veum faces the most challenging, traumatic
investigation of his career.

A stunning, sophisticated, tension-packed thriller – the darkest of hardboiled Nordic Noir – from one of
Norway’s most acclaimed crime writers.

Amazon UK

I received a copy of this book from Orenda Books in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

The reader is drawn into Varg Veum’s world from the first page in the emotionally poignant Nordic noir. It’s the second book I’ve read in this series. Believably flawed, Varg Veum is a likeable protagonist. His struggle with his addictions contrasts with his desire to achieve justice and truth for victims.

It’s an atmospheric and claustrophobic story where even the simplest things hide a web of complexity.
The multiple plot strands draw together by the astute investigator. It’s a murder mystery within a disturbing environmental and political arena.

It’s easy to get absorbed into this distinctive, dark world.

Granite Noir fest 2017. Gunnar Staalesen.

One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway, in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty titles, which have been published in twenty-four countries and sold over four million copies.

Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour) and Where Roses Never Die won the 2017 Petrona Award for Nordic Crime Fiction and Big Sister was shortlisted in 2019.

He lives with his wife in Bergen.


Author, blogger and book reviewer. I am the author of 'The Dragon Legacy' series and 'The Dangerous Gift'. Animal welfare supporter. Loves reading, writing, countryside walks, cookery and gardening, .

One thought on “Bitter Flowers Gunnar Staalesen 4* #Review @OrendaBooks #BitterFlowers @RandomTTours #GunnarStaalesen #Translator Don Bartlett #BlogTour #BookReview #VargVeum #ChillingWinterReads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.