Posted in Book Trailers, Contemporary Fiction, Literary Fiction

Everything is Beautiful Eleanor Ray #TrailerReveal @eleanorraybooks @PiatkusBooks @rararesources #EverythingisBeautiful #preorder #MondayMotivation #MondayBlogs

Sometimes it’s impossible to part with the things we love the most…

When Amy Ashton’s world came crashing down eleven years ago, she started a collection. Just a little collection, just a few keepsakes of happier times: some honeysuckle to remind herself of the boy she loved, a chipped china bird, an old terracotta pot . . . Things that others might throw away, but to Amy, represent a life that could have been.  

Now her house is overflowing with the objects she loves – soon there’ll be no room for Amy at all. But when a family move in next door, a chance discovery unearths a mystery long buried, and Amy’s carefully curated life begins to unravel. If she can find the courage to face her past, might the future she thought she’d lost still be hers for the taking? 

Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant and The Keeper of Lost Things, this exquisitely told, uplifting novel shows us that however hopeless things might feel, beauty can be found in the most unexpected of places.

Pre-order Links:

Amazon UK Amazon

Publication Date: 4th February 2021

Eleanor Ray

Eleanor Ray has an MA in English Literature from Edinburgh University and works in marketing. She lives in London with her husband and two young children.
Eleanor was inspired to write Everything is Beautiful by the objects her toddler collects and treasures – twigs, empty water bottles and wilting daisies. She is currently working on her next novel.

Twitter Facebook Instagram

Posted in Blog Blitz, Book Review, Friendship, Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Romance

Endless Skies JaneCable 5* #Review @JaneCable @SapereBooks @rararesources #histfic #HistoricalRomance #WW2 #Lincolnshire #Romance #timeslip #BlogBlitz #BookReview #EndlessSkies

As archaeologist Rachel excavates a World War Two airfield, could a love story from the past hold a lesson for her as well?

After yet another disastrous love affair Rachel has been forced to leave her long-term position for a temporary role as an Archaeology Lecturer at Lincoln University. Rachel has sworn off men and is determined to spend her time away clearing her head and sorting her life out. But when one of her students begins flirting with her, it seems she could be about to make the same mistakes again…

She distracts herself by taking on some freelance work for local property developer, Jonathan Daubney. He introduces her to an old Second World War RAF base. And from her very first visit something about it gives Rachel chills…

As Rachel makes new friends and delves into local history, she is also forced to confront her own troubled past. Could a wartime love story have any bearing on her own situation? Could this time be different?

Amazon UK

Endless Skies will be 99p until 23rd October.

I received a copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

This story immerses the reader into the history and poignancy of WW2 as a pilot returns home from a mission. He is in love and hopes to marry soon, but you wonder if he makes it.

In the present day, Rachel is a well-qualified successful academic whose personal life appears to be on self-destruct mode. She is contained, keeps her emotions on a tight rein and appears to seek out unsuitable lovers, one of which explains her presence as a visiting lecturer in archaeology at Lincoln University.

It’s evident she’s emotionally damaged. The reasons for this apparent, as the story progresses. It’s her consultancy job with a local property developer that brings her into contact with a Lincolnshire airfield and its poignant memories that echo her life and help her to heal.

The descriptions are vivid, and Lincolnshire and its WW2 history come to life. Character-driven Rachel meets diverse individuals who help her and add to this lovely story. She goes on an emotional journey and is a more settled happier woman at the end of it.

This story believably melds the past and present with a hint of the supernatural. The romance echoes across the years and the characters are realistic and relatable in this lovely escapist tale.

I write romance with a twist, that extra something to keep readers guessing right to the end. While my books are character driven my inspiration is always a British setting; so far a village in Yorkshire (The Cheesemaker’s House), a Hampshire wood (The Faerie Tree), gorgeous Studland Bay in Dorset (Another You) and rural Lincolnshire (Endless Skies).

I was born and raised in Cardiff but spent most of my adult life living near Chichester before my husband and I upped sticks and moved to Cornwall three years ago.

I published my first two novels independently and have now been signed by Sapere Books. I am an active member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and contributing editor to Frost online magazine.

Twitter Facebook Website

Posted in Blog Tour, Book Review, Historical Romance, Paranormal, Romance, Travel

For the Love of a Pirate Laura Nelson 3*#Review @Shockaboo @CayellePub @lovebooksgroup #lovebookstours #Historical #Romance #paranormal #gothic #timeslip #BlogTour #BookReview #FortheLoveofaPirate

A jaded middle-aged woman attends a museum exhibit featuring the wreck of a pirate ship. A dead pirate from the wreck makes spiritual contact with her, pleading for her help to rescue him from purgatory. Along the way, she discovers both their pasts through a series of dreams. Another pirate covets her body for his own nefarious purposes. She becomes determined to rescue the pirate who has become her friend while figuring out how to prevent the other pirate from taking over her body.

Amazon UK

I received a copy of this book from Cayelle Publishing in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

It took me a while to immerse myself in this story. It’s detailed and full of ordinary day to day occurrences which don’t hold your interest. Reading further, you realise this is deliberate showing how routine the main protagonist’s life is and that she is ripe for an adventure.

Kelly is middle-aged, lives alone except for her cats and has a few good friends. Life didn’t turn out quite as she planned and left her cynical and judgemental. A date to a museum is not something she’s looking forward to, but she goes. The date is a disaster. The exhibition on the life of pirates changes her life.

The story takes on a paranormal, timeslip element as Kelly slips into a world of pirates and realises she needs to help one of them. The contrast between the timeslip world and the present day is well written and draws you into the story. The characters are diverse and relatable. To enjoy this story, you have to enter the world created and watch the events unfold.

I am 57, and I am a graduate of Augustana College of Rock Island, Illinois. I wrote some in college, then stopped. I took it up again after attending the Real Pirates Exhibit in Denver, Colorado in 2011. I have since written several non-fiction articles about some of the pirates who sailed on the Whydah Galley. In the past few years, I’ve compiled them into two books titled The Whydah Pirates Speak. I have also published several short stories, which have appeared in two anthologies (listed on my Amazon page), and in several magazines. I live in Cochiti Lake, NM, with my three cats. When not writing, I enjoy walking, reading, and Tai Chi.